Entry Requirements – Department of Agricultural Economics and Extension

A. UTME ENTRY MODE – Five (5) year B. Agric. Programme

i. O’level Subjects

The five O’level Credits (WASCE/NECO/GCE) to include: English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology or Agricultural Science and any other Science or Social Science subject.

ii. UTME Subjects

English Language, Chemistry, Biology or Agricultural Science and any of Physics/Mathematics/Geography/Economics.

B. DIRECT ENTRY – Four (4) year B. Agric. Programme

i. NCE/ND or approved equivalent in relevant fields

ii. At least two Advanced Level passes to include Chemistry and any one of the following: Biology/Botany, Zoology/Agricultural Science, Economics, Physics and Geography.

iii. IJMB at acceptable grade levels.


i. HND conversion

ii. Inter and Intra Transfer

Degree Requirement

To be eligible for the B. Agric. degree, a student must pass all the prescribed courses and obtain a minimum of 150 credit units within the 5-year programme and 120 credit units within the 4-year programme.

Regulation on Course selection

In line with the Faculty of Agriculture, the department operates a course unit system in a 2-semester academic year for the B.Agric. degree. Students are required to take a list of approved courses and register for not less than 15 credit units and non-more than 24 credit units in each semester.