Shun immoral practices, Ajayi Crowther varsity VC warns students

Timothy Adebayo, the Vice-Chancellor (VC) of Ajayi Crowther University (ACU), Oyo state, has warned students against engaging in immoral practices.

Speaking at the varsity’s matriculation ceremony, Adebayo said the school will not bend the rule for anyone found guilty of immoral practices.

The VC also disclosed that the ACU admitted over 1200 students into 11 faculties for the 2022/2023 academic year.

Adebayo added that the varsity has programmes that can produce “intellectually and morally sophisticated” students that are “fit for the demands of the global market”.

“ACU frowns severely at any form of misconduct. There are stern measures taken against students who engage in the slightest form of examination malpractice,” he said.

“Also, sexual immorality and any other shades of deviant behaviours are not tolerated in the university. The university frowns at indecent dressing, and strict actions are taken against erring students.

“ACU promotes the culture of hard work, dedication, and spiritual development. Students are exposed to the enormous intellectual tasks that will make them fit for healthy competition in the global academic community and other realities of life.

“In line with contemporary global scholarship, ACU continues to promote practical knowledge that facilitates the students’ self-reliance and prepares them as problem solvers.”

The VC assured that students will be exposed to entrepreneurial education and vocational training in 17 different skills in their first academic year.

“With the support and cooperation of all staff, the academic calendar has remained stable and uninterrupted,” he added.

“I can assure our students that realistically, they have come to a refined academic community for innovative scholarship where Godly intellectuals are raised.”

Other members of the school board present at the matriculation ceremony include Muyiwa Popoola, Deputy Vice-Chancellor; Jadesola Babatola, the registrar; and George Lasebikan, Dean, Faculty of Humanities.